Focus

I played golf at Paako Ridge a few days ago. On one particular hole, a huge evergreen tree was on the left side of the tee box about 50 yards in front of me. “Junk” awaited any ball that sprayed to the right. As I prepared to tee off, I focused on one thought!

“Don’t hit the tree on the left!”

Guess what? I hit the tree on the left.

Plunk! The ball dropped straight down in rough under that tree. I went on to triple bogey that hole. For non-golfers that is a bad score.

I realized my mistake. In my attempt not to hit the tree I actually focused on the tree thus contributing to the result of hitting the tree. I should have focused on hitting the opening instead.

Moral: In life, focus on what you should do rather than what you should not do. As you attempt to do the right thing, focus on that rather than the wrong thing.  You’ll hit alot less trees that way!

One Response to Focus

  1. James says:

    Misdirected focus came up at our home group Sunday night. My best example was a story about me taking a photograph of a storage shed I had just finished and painted. I was pretty proud of it and decided to take some photos of it. I took several photos and it wasn’t until after they had returned from developing, that i realized the AMAZING sunset in the background. I wanted to kick myself for being so focused on something *I* had created instead of being focused on the unfathomable beauty that god created that was literally staring me in the face.

    -James

Leave a Reply

