Just a thought – about Lent

Romans 12:1 reminds us to “offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God.” As I participate in Lent, sacrificing a few pleasures, I am reminded of this verse. However, today I reflected on the fact that Jesus did this very act. He offered Himself as a living sacrifice. His sacrifice was pleasing to His Father! Jesus did not merely sacrifice a few pleasures, He sacrificed Himself.

Though my sacrifice dims in comparison to Christ’s, a common thread does exist. They both are a spiritual act of worship. My participation in Lent is an act of worship. It says I want to focus on Christ and what He did for me. It speaks to my desire to remind myself of what is really important in life. It is a unique way, (something I do not do year round) to express worship to God. It is more that simply a discipline or an old church tradition. It is a fresh way for me to worship!

So, as you “sacrifice” during this Lenten season, remember you are worshiping and you are following the pattern of Jesus.

One Response to Just a thought – about Lent

  1. Scott Mayes says:

    Thanks Darrell. This is a good reminder. I think so often we think of worship as simply singing. It’s important to remember there are a variety of ways to worship God.

Leave a Reply

