Psalm 26:2-3 says, “Test me, O Lord, and try me, examine my heart and my mind; for your love is ever before me, and I walk continually in your truth.”

Lent gives us an opportunity to do two things. One, it gives God permission to examine our heart and mind to see if there is error or sin present. It allows him to check our motives, desires and ambitions to be sure they are pure. It is a great time of self-examination and self-evaluation that helps us make any necessary realignments.

Two, it helps us focus continually on God’s love for us. The reality that God sent Christ as our sin remedy takes front row. It becomes center in our attention. As we anticipate the day that we can end our fast, we, in the process, have given much more thought to the Easter event; to that day when Christ “paid it all” for me.

May Psalm 26:2-3 be your heart’s cry this Lenten season!

One Response to

Leave a Reply

